Well, duh!

Tuesday, November 15 2011 @ 11:09 PM EST

Contributed by: Mick Doherty

Justin Verlander, as projected yesterday by Da Box's own stalwart soothsayer Gerry (in this thread) is your unanimos AL Cy Young Award winner for 2011. Winning the pitching triple crown will do that for a guy.

Verlander is just the ninth unanimous winner in AL history and the first since then-Twin Johan Santana in 2006; Santana '06 was also the last pitching triple crown winner (wins, ERA and strikeouts). The Detrooit ace takes home the first Tiger Cy since Willie Hernandez in 1984 and is the first Tiger to win the pitching triple criwn since Hal Newhouser in 1945.

So Cy Young Award winner? As the headline mentions, well, duh. But here's a QOTD -- is Cy Verlander also deserving of earning the imminent AL MVP award?