Minor Leagues Set for 10 Years

Friday, February 12 2021 @ 09:57 PM EST

Contributed by: John Northey

The Minors are now set for a decade. No worries about the Jays ending up in Vegas again.

Triple-A East is the new league for the Bisons who signed a 10 year agreement with MLB to be an affiliate of the Blue Jays. They will play in the Northeast Division with with Rochester, Syracuse, Lehigh Valley, Scranton/Wilkes-Barre and Worcester.

New Hampshire remains here for a decade too. Their league is renamed "Double-A Northeast".

Vancouver also signed a 10 year deal. They are in the new High-A West League. The six-team league will include the Eugene Emeralds (San Francisco Giants), Everett AquaSox (Seattle Mariners), Hillsboro Hops (Arizona Diamondbacks), Tri-City Dust Devils (Los Angeles Angels), and Spokane Indians (Colorado Rockies). They will play 132 games a season and should see most of the best prospects now instead of college 'might be' guys.

Dunedin of course is sticking here. They are still in the Florida State League but it is now a Low A league (like Vancouver was but full season now). I expect it to see mostly high schoolers and college kids getting their feet wet in pro ball.

A nice thing is player salary increases ranging from 38-72% for the 2021 season across the minors. For the non-bonus babies that is critical. I'm glad to see it.

Also of note is most minor league lists are now made. More on the lists when I have more of them and time to properly format them.