Hall of Fame Ballot

Monday, November 21 2022 @ 03:30 PM EST

Contributed by: Magpie

And here's the new Hall of Fame ballot...

Appearing for the first time:

Carlos Beltran
John Lackey
Jered Weaver
R.A. Dickey
Huston Street
Francisco Rodriguez
Bronson Arroyo
Matt Cain
Jacoby Ellsbury
Jayson Werth
Mike Napoli
J.J. Hardy
Jhonny Peralta
Andre Ethier

I can't see anyone here getting in this time round. Beltran must first undergo Ritual Punishment for the 2017 Astros. The rest will be lucky to stay on the ballot for another year.

Holdovers on the ballot (with their most recent vote percentage attached):

Scott Rolen (63.2)
Todd Helton (52)
Billy Wagner (51)
Andruw Jones (41.1)
Gary Sheffield (40.6)
Alex Rodriguez (34.3)
Jeff Kent (32.7)
Manny Ramirez (28.9)
Omar Vizquel (23.9)
Andy Pettitte (10.7)
Jimmy Rollins (9.4)
Bobby Abreu (8.6)
Mark Buehrle (5.8)
Torii Hunter (5.3)

I think Rolen gets in this time. Maybe Helton as well. The bottom three (at least) will likely fall off the ballot.

Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and Curt Schilling have shuffled off this particular coil but will be popping up immediately on the Contemporary Baseball Era committee. Also on that ballot are Albert Belle, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Dale Murphy, and Rafael Palmeiro.

I suspect the three M boys - Mattingly, McGriff, and Murphy - each have a fighting chance.