Vancouver Crowned As Champions

Sunday, September 17 2023 @ 03:36 AM EDT

Contributed by: Gerry

Vancouver Canadians are champions of the Northwest League after a dominant win over Everett. Vancouver were the best team in the NWL this year and deserved to be champs. They won 10-2 with several players having big nights. Buffalo won in then innings while New Hampshire lost.

Buffalo 3 Scranton WB 2 - 10 innings

Somerset 8 New Hampshire 3

Everett 2 Vancouver 10

Three Stars

Third Star - Cade Doughty

Second Star - Jeffrey Wehler

First Star - Garrett Spain



Vancouver had a big win over Everett to clinch the title in the Northwest League. The C's scored two runs in the second inning and five in the fourth and cruised to a big win. In the second inning Jeff Wehler and Garrett Spain each doubled and scored. The C's were helped by an Everett error in the fifth inning. Spain and Wehler singled again and Cade Doughty had a two run double. Doughty doubled again in the sixth and scored on a single by Gabriel Martinez. Nick Goodwin hit a two run home run in the seventh. Martinez and Spain each had three hits.

Ryan Jennings started and went three innings, no hits allowed with five K's. Anders Tolhurst followed with four innings. Eric Pardinho and Justin Kelly each went one inning.

Buffalo won in ten innings thanks to three walks in the inning. Their other two runs came in the fifth inning when Damiano Palmegiani and Orelvis Martinez hit back to back home runs.

Andrew Bash continued his fine form by going 5.1 innings, with one run allowed. Adam Cimber gave up the other run.

New Hampshire were well beaten and outhit 12-5. Michael Dominguez has pitched well but in this game he gave up four runs in five innings. Once again home runs were his downfall, accounting for three of the four runs he allowed.

As mentioned NH had just five hits. Michael Turconi homered, his third in AA. Devonte Brown walked four times.