Batter's Box Interactive Magazine Batter's Box Interactive Magazine Batter's Box Interactive Magazine
Three Reds. Two Rockies. Two Cardinals. An Astro and a Phillie. Here they are ...

The complete list for NL GG'10:

C Yadier Molina Cardinals
1B Albert Pujols Cardinals
2B Brandon Phillips Reds
SS Troy Tulowitzki Rockies
3B Scott Rolen Reds
OF Carlos Gonzalez Rockies
OF Michael Bourn Astros
OF Shane Victorino Phillies
P Bronson Arroyo Reds

Any thoughts, BoxNation? Who got ripped off? Who got erroneously rewarded, and if you answer that, who SHOULD have won that position? And finally, which "team" is better overall, defensively, the AL or the NL?

Yes, that's right. For the fifth time, Derek Jeter's fielding glove has officially beend deemed "Gold." In fact, three-quarters of the Yankee infield -- Mark Teixeira, Robby Cano and Jeter -- were so recognized this year, so everyone in that infield except Alex Rodriguez ...

The complete list for AL GG'10:

P Marl Buehrle, White Sox
C Joe Mauer, Twins
1B Mark Teixeira, Yankees
2B Robinson Cano, Yankees
SS Derek Jeter, Yankees
3B Evan Longoria, Rays
OF Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners
OF Carl Crawford, Rays
OF Franklin Gutierrez, Mariners

Really, no surprises. Any thoughts, BoxNation? Who got ripped off? Who got erroneously rewarded, and if you answer that, who SHOULD have won that position? And hey, this is the AL  -- no Gold Glove DH?

Over the past two days, Bauxites have been informally invited to cast their "votes" -- for who should win, not necessarily who will win -- in 10 significant MLB award categories for the just-concluded 2010 season. Let's take a look at some of the early returns.

Note: though the vote thread was opened more than a thousand times in its first two days, and there are literally hundreds of registered Bauxites, there were only a few dozen "votes" cast.

In the least surprising return in the history of post-season voting (just look at the outdated site banner still aloft this online magazine's home page) ...


[More] (282 words)

So all the playoff spots and seeds are sewn up now ... um, right? Now we can focus for a few moments, before post-season play begins, on individual awards and accolades.

Cast your "vote" here ... but let's all agree that these votes represent who we, as individuals, think should win, not necessarily who we believe will win.

There are 10 award-winners for you to list; no need to defend or explain any of your votes, but you are welcome to do so if you wish.

Let's see whatchagot, Bauxites ...

[More] (75 words)

Phat Albert's NL MVP. Unanimously.

Any questions?

Adam Lind is one of five players vying for the last spot on the All Star Team (barring injury replacement). You can vote for him up a million times a day by going to
[More] (13 words)
And we all breathe a big sigh of relief.
[More] (85 words)
That's right, your nine rounds of individual positional balloting have been tabulated, and frankly, the Batter's Box All-Star team looks a LOT like the one that will take the field Tuesday night in San Francisco -- the only differences are behind the plate and the right side of the infield -- and, well, we don't know about the starting pitcher yet.

Here is the team you selected:
[More] (530 words)
In what may be the least surprising awards announcement of the 2006-07 off-season, Joe Girardi and Jim Leyland have been named NL and AL managers of the year, respectively.

Here's a good poser: has anyone before Girardi ever won this award after already being fired?

Arizona SP Brandon Webb has nudged out Trevor Hoffman, Chris Carpenter and the cast of AAAA Baseball '06 to win the NL Cy Young Award. His victory total (16) was the lowest in a full season for a starting pitcher who won the Cy Young Award.
[More] (18 words)
The 2006 AL and NL Rookies of the Year have been announced.

In a tight NL race, Hanley Ramirez overcame a possible vote split with teammate Dan Uggla (who finished third) to edge Ryan Zimmerman for the honor. In the AL, Justin Verlander continued '06 Tiger magic and held off Red Sox closer Jon Papelbon, snaring 26 of the 28 possible first-place votes to coast to the victory.

Personally, I would have gone with ...

[More] (24 words)

According to wire reports (like this one on, Blue Jays CF Vernon Wells has won another Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

And it's true that an OF of Wells, Torii Hunter and Ichiro! would be mighty fine to watch (though, where have you gone, Gary Matthews Jr.?) but that double play combination of Mark Grudzielanek and Derek Jeter might call the award's premise into some question ...

Your thoughts?

[More] (2 words)
So the 2005 Cy Young Award winners have been announced and Bartolo Colon took home the AL award while Chris Carpenter swept to victory in the NL.

Say, that's exactly what Bauxites predicted would happen back in early September. Well done, all!

Back in early September, Bauxites projected that Cleveland's Eric Wedge and Atlanta's Bobby Cox would win their respective league's "Manager of the Year" awards.

As with the Rookies of the Year announced yesterday, the learned counselors here at were exactly half-right -- though this time nailing the NL half of the vote while failing to foresee Cleveland's eventual collapse to doom that shuffled the White Sox off to their first title since Kaiser Wilhelm was in control of Germany and landed manager Ozzie Guillen (a strong second to Wedge in the September balloting) the manager award. Cox's win is his fourth; Guillen's is his first.

Back in early September, the voting public of Batter's Box managed a .500 winning percentage in predicting the eventual winners of the AL and NL Rookie of the Year awards, respectively.

The actual winners, just announced, are of course Oakland RP Huston Street and Phillies 1B Ryan Howard.

The voting back when by participating Bauxites had Street just edging out Gustavo Chacin (who actually finished fifth) for the AL award, while over in the NL the click-votes (more than 63 percent of them) went primarily to Jeff Francouer, while Pirate hurler Zach Duke also finished ahead of Howard, who ended up with just 13 percent of the vote overall ...

[More] (48 words)